Gluten Free Gnocchi

Italian food is one of my favorites. Most of the dishes I loved were off limits for a long time once I found out I couldn’t eat wheat. One particular dish that I really like is gnocchi. Although I had never made it from scratch (even in the days when I could eat wheat). So, I decided to try to make some. Maybe I’m the exception, but when I want to try to make something new the first thing I do is pay a visit to Google. I looked at several recipes and ended up with something of an amalgam of the recipes I came across. For the recipes I used for inspiration look here, here and here.

Gluten Free Gnocchi

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 pounds russet potatoes
  • 1 1/2-2 cups all-purpose gluten free flour + more for your work surface
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Scrub potatoes and peel (I forgot to peal my potatoes; you can see the brown flecks in the pictures). Chop the potatoes into 1/2 inch cubes and boil them for 10-15 minutes, or until they are fork tender.
  2. Drain the potatoes and put them through a food mill or ricer (or you can mash them by hand, just make sure there are no lumps).

    I found another use for my Spaetzle press.

  3. Spread the potatoes evenly on a metal baking sheet to cool.
  4. In a large bowl combine the potatoes, xanthan gum, olive oil, eggs and salt, until well combined. Add one cup of the flour. Gradually add more flour until the dough comes together. One of recipes mentioned above said this, “It should almost feel like play dough; tacky but not sticky.”

  5. On a floured surface roll the dough into ropes (about a handful at a time). The ropes should be about 3/4 inch thick. Once you have rolled all the ropes cut them into inch long pieces.
  6. Then, using a fork or gnocchi board, roll the pieces. (I found a good demonstration on YouTube.)
  7. Let the gnocchi dry for 15-20 minutes.
  8. Boil a large pot of water and add a couple of teaspoons of salt and a drizzle of olive oil.
  9. Place the gnocchi into the water with a slotted spoon or a strainer.
  10. Cook until all gnocchi are floating on top, stirring occasionally. Cook for an additional minute. Remove the gnocchi with a slotted spoon.
  11. Serve with whatever sauce you want. (I made a Parmesan cream sauce that had mushrooms, onions, garlic, roasted red peppers and peas in it.)

Some notes:

  1. The gnocchi can be kept in a cool dry for up to 2 hours before cooking.
  2. You can place the gnocchi in a single layer on a cookie sheet and freeze them, then transfer them to a freezer safe storage container.
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Gnocchi

  1. yay!!! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

